Tidelands (The Fairmile #1)

Tidelands (The Fairmile #1)THE BRAND NEW SERIES FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR England 1648 A dangerous time for a woman to be different Midsummer s Eve, 1648, and England is in the grip of civil war between renegade King and rebellious Parliament The struggle reaches every corner of the kingdom,

The Familiars

The FamiliarsYoung Fleetwood Shuttleworth, a noblewoman, is with child again None of her previous pregnancies have borne fruit, and her husband, Richard, is anxious for an heir Then Fleetwood discovers a hidden doctor s letter that carries a dire prediction she will not survive another birth By chance she me

The Weight of Ink

The Weight of InkAn intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A S Byatt s Possession and Geraldine Brooks s People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect Ester Velasquez,

The Miniaturist

The MiniaturistSet in seventeenth century Amsterdam a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed On a bris

The Thief Taker (The Thief Taker #1)

The Thief Taker (The Thief Taker #1)The year is 1665 Black Death ravages London A killer stalks the streets in a plague doctor s hood and mask When a girl is gruesomely murdered, thief taker Charlie Tuesday reluctantly agrees to take on the case But the horrific remains tell him this is no isolated death The killer s mad appeti

The Little Shop of Found Things (Found Things #1)

The Little Shop of Found Things (Found Things #1)A new series about a young woman whose connection to antiques takes her on a magical adventure, reminiscent of Outlander New York Times bestselling author of The Witch s Daughter Paula Brackston returns to her trademark blend of magic and romance to launch a new series guaranteed to enchant her audi

The King's Witch (Frances Gorges Trilogy, #1)

The King's Witch (Frances Gorges Trilogy, #1)In March of 1603, as she helps to nurse the dying Queen Elizabeth of England, Frances Gorges dreams of her parents country estate, where she has learned to use flowers and herbs to become a much loved healer She is happy to stay at home when King James of Scotland succeeds to the throne His court

The Witchfinder's Sister

The Witchfinder's SisterEssex, England, 1645 With a heavy heart, Alice Hopkins returns to the small town she grew up in Widowed, with child, and without prospects, she is forced to find refuge at the house of her younger brother, Matthew In the five years she has been gone, the boy she knew has become a man of influence

The Sealwoman's Gift

The Sealwoman's GiftIn 1627 Barbary pirates raided the coast of Iceland and abducted some 400 of its people, including 250 from a tiny island off the mainland Among the captives sold into slavery in Algiers were the island pastor, his wife and their three children Although the raid itself is well documented, little i

The Glass Woman

The Glass Woman1686, ICELAND AN ISOLATED, WINDSWEPT LAND HAUNTED BY WITCH TRIALS AND STEEPED IN THE ANCIENT SAGAS Betrothed unexpectedly to J n Eir ksson, R sa is sent to join her new husband in the remote village of Stykkish lmur Here, the villagers are wary of outsiders But R sa harbours her own suspicions.

The Witches: Salem, 1692

The Witches: Salem, 1692Pulitzer Prize winner Stacy Schiff, author of the 1 bestseller Cleopatra, provides an electrifying, fresh view of the Salem witch trials The panic began early in 1692, over an exceptionally raw Massachusetts winter, when a minister s niece began to writhe and roar It spread quickly, confounding t

House of Shadows

House of ShadowsThe wooded hills of Oxfordshire conceal the remains of the aptly named Ashdown House a wasted pile of cinders and regret Once home to the daughter of a king, its secrets will unite three women across four centuries in a tangle of romance, deceit and destiny 1662 A queen Bound by sex and birth

Flight of the Sparrow

Flight of the SparrowShe suspects that she has changed too much to ever fit easily into English society again The wilderness has now become her home She can interpret the cries of birds She has seen vistas that have stolen away her breath She has learned to live in a new, free way Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676.

The Last Painting of Sara de Vos

The Last Painting of Sara de VosThis is what we long for the profound pleasure of being swept into vivid new worlds, worlds peopled by characters so intriguing and real that we can t shake them, even long after the reading s done In his earlier, award winning novels, Dominic Smith demonstrated a gift for coaxing the past to life

Macbeth

MacbethOne night on the heath, the brave and respected general Macbeth encounters three witches who foretell that he will become king of Scotland At first sceptical, he s urged on by the ruthless, single minded ambitions of Lady Macbeth, who suffers none of her husband s doubt But seeing the prophecy thr

Hamlet

HamletAmong Shakespeare s plays, Hamlet is considered by many his masterpiece Among actors, the role of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, is considered the jewel in the crown of a triumphant theatrical career Now Kenneth Branagh plays the leading role and co directs a brillant ensemble performance Three gen

Don Quixote

Don QuixoteDon Quixote has become so entranced by reading chivalric romances, that he determines to become a knight errant himself In the company of his faithful squire, Sancho Panza, his exploits blossom in all sorts of wonderful ways While Quixote s fancy often leads him astray he tilts at windmills, ima